OT: Out of a Job

Welcome to the Digital Sportspage forum.

Moderators: Bill_Abner, ScoopBrady

grtwhtsk
DSP-Funk All-Star
DSP-Funk All-Star

OT: Out of a Job

Post by grtwhtsk »

Sorry guys that I haven't posted in a long time. No excuses, just life...

Then, just over 2 weeks ago, I lost my job. For the past 5 years, I had been an Independent Contractor for Comcast, doing accounting work. Now they are bringing what I was doing, in-house, so no need for me. Being a contractor, I am not eligible for unemployment compensation.

With most of our savings eaten by medical debt, we will be broke at some point in March if I can't find work. I have so far sent out over 140 applications online. Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers.

I thought I had hit rock bottom with my daughter's illness, but not being able to provide for my family, is the scariest thing I have ever felt. The thought of my kids having to leave the area to possibly move in with relatives just turns my stomach. They love where they live, and have a great base of friends. If necessary, I will move anywhere to work, and send money back so that they can live where they love. My kids are everything to me, and if it means living apart to keep them where they love, I will surely do it.

This Christmas will be really rough. In the past, we have just loved to fill up all the room under the tree....with the kids taking their time opening their presents. They are good kids, and they will understand that this year will be different. We understand that we are still more fortunate than many people out there.

Again, please keep us in your thoughts and prayers....and if you know anyone, anywhere....who could use a hard working accountant (willing to do stuff outside accounting), please let me know. Again, I will go anywhere for my family.

Take care guys, and I hope you all had a Happy Thanksgiving.

sportdan30
DSP-Funk All-Star
DSP-Funk All-Star

Re: OT: Out of a Job

Post by sportdan30 »

Steve,