ny post fiasco

Welcome to the Digital Sportspage forum.

Moderators: Bill_Abner, ScoopBrady

fletcher21
DSP-Funk All-Star
DSP-Funk All-Star

ny post fiasco

Post by fletcher21 »

What do you guys think about the story of the photographer who took a picture of a guy who had fallen onto the tracks, just seconds before he was hit and killed. Could the photog have even saved the guy? No idea how fast those trains move or how much notice he had to help the guy. People are up in arms about it, though.

FifaInspected
DSP-Funk All-Star
DSP-Funk All-Star

Re: ny post fiasco

Post by FifaInspected »

I saw that on the news this morning and as a photographer myself I can't imagine he was thinking "he's gonna push the guy off the platform and I'm gonna get some real grizzly images. I'm sure he was thinking "this may come to blows and i'll get some good street photography images."

However. He did push him off the platform and it's at this moment the photographer and everyone else who was present had a decision to make.

Like you, I have no idea if saving the guy was even possible. Maybe some of our NY folks can shed some light on the details. All I know is the image of the guy standing there with one arm back on the platform and the train approaching was haunting.
PSN - Fifa-Inspected
XBOX - Fifa Inspected

Rodster
DSP-Funk All-Star
DSP-Funk All-Star

Post by Rodster »

Born and raised in NYC, took the Subway to school years ago. It's a b*tch if you fall onto the tracks because the platform sticks out. There isn't anything to put your feet against to leverage your way off the tracks, you are basically dangling off a ledge. If you are a tall person and have good arm strength then it's possible.