Rock Band - Impressions...

Welcome to the Digital Sportspage forum.

Moderators: Bill_Abner, ScoopBrady

Spooky
DSP-Funk All-Star
DSP-Funk All-Star

Rock Band - Impressions...

Post by Spooky »

Played for about an hour last night. Just did 'quick play' songs and did not start a career.

Guitar:

Well, I thought I hated the new Start style from trying it at Best Buy but my experience last night was much different. I really like it but it will take some getting used to after using the GH3 Les Paul. My concerns about the strum bar are gone though.

The first few songs I played were on Expert and were definitely on the easy side but still fun. Not much to say here...plays like Guitar Hero with a couple added features like guitar effects using the toggle switch (which I really could not tell a difference with).

Drums:

There are weird for me right now. I am a drummer at heart and can play a little so I will be able to play these on Hard or Expert with some practice but last night had me a bit frustrated and at one point thinking my drums may be broken.

I tried lag calibration and it did not make a difference that I can tell, but it started to look like the issue was me. I guess the problem is that I don't play like a metronome, but the game requires you to (which is good but just not what I m used to). It's like playing to a click track, if you've never done that it can take some adjustment.

The problem is that once I get off beat a bit, it is really hard to get back on track. And it is even harder to start a song if I am not familiar with it because I do not know the tempo. My leg was also getting cramped up from the foot peddle.

Is it fun though...? Hell yeah. I just need to get more used to it but it is definitely fun and will probably be what I go through the career with.

Vocals:

I can carry a tune a bit so this aspect was actually the most fn for me in my limited time last night. It plays just like the Karoke games for PS2 it appears so not much new here.